Retro looking outbreak simulation prototype I made using Haxe and HaxeFlixel for the Newgrounds HaxeFlixel Game Jam.

I started by following this tutorial on the Flixel website, then branched off and added some stuff of my own. My aim was to make a virus outbreak simulation where you could decided between surviving yourself or help other people survive too by giving them protection equipment like masks, gloves and hand sanitizer. Unfortunately the Jam happened at the same time as my University exams, so I didn’t have enough time to implement a proper tutorial or win/lose condition. At this stage winning equals reaching 0 infected and losing equals dying.

Development has stalled for now, the code got messy and I lost interest in the project after the Jam.

First screenshot of game Second screenshot of game
Some screenshots from the game

Get the Source

The project is Open Source, the repository can be found here.

Technologies Used

Here are the main technologies I used to make this game:

Technology Usage
Haxe + HaxeFlixel Language and Framework in which I programmed the game
Visual Studio Code IDE used for writing the code
Ogmo Editor Level editor used to design the city tilemap
Piskel PixelArt drawing tool used for minor edits on the image assets
Audacity Audio software used for minor edits on the audio assets

Credits

Images

Characters and city sprites by Kenney, source here

Sounds

Music

Acid Trumpet by Kevin MacLeod Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3340-acid-trumpet License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ Cold Funk by Kevin MacLeod Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3522-cold-funk License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ Achaidh Cheide by Kevin MacLeod Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3338-achaidh-cheide License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ B-Roll by Kevin MacLeod Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3402-b-roll License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ Feelin Good by Kevin MacLeod Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3744-feelin-good License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ Wallpaper by Kevin MacLeod Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/4604-wallpaper License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ Carpe Diem by Kevin MacLeod Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3478-carpe-diem License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ Clear Air by Kevin MacLeod Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3515-clear-air License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ Somewhere Sunny (ver 2) by Kevin MacLeod Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/4389-somewhere-sunny-ver-2- License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

Comments